a train of thought - lost

Don't Swallow the Cap

Dull light breaks behind the houses
I don�t see what�s strange about this.
Tiny bubbles hang above me.
It�s a sign that someone loves me.
I can hardly stand upright
Hit my head upon the light
I have faith but don�t believe it
It's not there enough to leave it.

Everything I love is on the table.
Everything I love is out to sea.

I have only two emotions,
Careful fear and dead devotion.
I can�t get the balance right.
Throw all my marbles in the fire.
I see all the ones I wept for
All the things I had it in for
I won�t cry until I hear
Cause I was not supposed to be here.

Everything I love is on the table.
Everything I love is out to sea.
I�m not alone,
I�ll never be.
Into the bone,
I�ll never grieve.

I�m tired, I�m freezing, I�m dumb
When it gets so late I forget everyone.
I need somewhere to stay.
Don�t think anybody I know is awake.
Calm down it�s alright,
Keep my arms the rest of the night.
When they ask what do I see,
I say a bright white beautiful heaven hangin� over me.

I�m not alone,
I�ll never be.
Into the bone,
I�ll never grieve.
And if you want, (too seriously)
To see me cry. (don�t swallow the cap)
Play �Let It Be� (pat yourself on the back)
Or �Nevermind�. (too seriously)

Is it time to leave? Is it time to think about
What I wanna say to the girls at the door?
I need somewhere to be
But I can�t get around the river in front of me.
Calm down it�s alright,
Lead my arms the rest of the night.
When they ask what do I see,
I say a bright white beautiful heaven hangin� over me.

I�m not alone, (too seriously)
I�ll never be. (don�t swallow the cap)
Into the bones, (pat yourself on the back)
I�ll never grieve (too seriously)
And if you want, (too seriously)
To see me cry, (don�t swallow the cap)
Play �Let It Be� (pat yourself on the back)
Or �Nevermind�. (too seriously)

The National

1:48 a.m. - 2013-06-05